Wednesday, March 7, 2012

Age No bar in Punjab Assembly Elections


Recently Result for Punjab Assembly Elections 2012 was declared. None of the 117 newly elected MLAs is less than 30 years and the Chief Minister and Vidhan Sabha Deputy Speaker Chunni Lal Bhagat are octogenarians, four are between 71 and 80 years and 29 are between 61 and 70 years. Maximum number of 35 MLAs is between 51 and 60 years of age.

BJP’s Seema Kumari from Bhoa constituency, Amarinder Singh Raja Warring from Gidderbaha, Harpreet Singh from Malout are all aged at 33.
The SAD MLA from Amritsar South, Inderbir Singh Bolaria, (31) is the youngest and Chief Minister Parkash Singh Badal (84) is the oldest member of the Punjab’s newly elected “not-so-young” Assembly where only 14 members are below 40 years of age.

Rajwinder Kaur (34), MLA from Nihal Singh Wala, Navtej Singh (36) from Sultanpur Lodhi, Bonny Amarpal Singh Ajnala (36) from Ajnala, Baljit Singh Jalal Usma (37) from Jandiala, Manpreet Singh Ayalai (37) from Dakha, Gurkirat Singh Kotli (38) from Khanna, Parminder Singh Dhindsa (38) from Sunam, Manjit Singh Manna Mianwind (38) from Baba Bakala and Simarjit Singh Bains (39) from Atam Nagar in Ludhiana all represent the “thirties-club” of the Assembly.

Only 14 newly elected MLAs are in their thirtees, while 101 are between 40 to 84 years.

The septuagenarians’ club is represented by Charanjit Singh Atwal (74) from Payal, Madan Mohan Mittal (72) from Anandpur Sahib, Tota Singh (70) from Dharmakot, Chatin Singh (70) from Budhlada, Hari Singh Zira (71) from Zira, Ajit Singh Kohar (71) from Shahkot. This time the Assembly would also be represented by 45 first timers.

Source : Tribune India

1 comment:
Write comments
  1. This was incredibly instructive. Maintain up with good posts.It truly is such as you can study my head. thanks a whole lot.